More Trophies!


Nicklas Lidstrom is one of the 3 finalists for the James Norris Memorial Trophy. The James Norris Memorial Trophy is awarded to the Defensive player who displays the gratest all-around ability through the season in their position.

In 1953, the 4 children of James Norris, owner of the Detroil Red Wings from 1932-1952, presented the NHL with the James Norris Trophy.

The 3 finalists are:
Zdeno Chara14 Goals
30 Assists
44 Points
264 SOG
Nicklas Lidstrom16 Goals
46 Assists
62 Points
175 SOG
Shea Weber16 Goals
32 Assists
48 Points
254 SOG

3 AMAZING players, only one of which has advanced to the semi-finals.
Nicklas Lidstrom has already won the James Norris Memorial Trophy 6 times previous. Bobby Orr holds the record with 8 wins, Doug Harvy – 7 and Ray Bourque – 5. Between these 4 players, they have won half of the James Norris Memorial Trophies.

If, by chance, Chara or Weber walk away with the best defensive player trophy, Nicklas is still in the running for another trophy; The Lady Byng Memorial. This award is given to the player with the best sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with high standard of playing ability.

Lady Byng – the wife of Canada’s Governor-General presented this trophy in 1925. She asked Frank Nighbor of the Ottawa Senators if the NHL would accept a trophy for the most gentlemanly player. When he said yes they would, she handed him the trophy and awarded him the first recipient of the Best Sportsmanship award. When Lady Byng passed away in 1949, the NHL changed the name to the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy.

Frank Boucher, of the NY Rangers, has won the most Lady Byng Trophies. No Goaltender has ever won and only two defensemen have won, Bill Quackenbush and Red Kelly. The NY Rangers have won more Lady Byng trophies than any other team.

The three finalists for the Lady Byng are:
Nicklas Lidstrom
Loui Erksson27 Goals
45 Assists
73 Points
179 SOG
St Louis
Martin St. Louis31 Goals
68 Assists
99 Points
254 SOG
Lidstrom has been nominated 6 times now for the Lady Byng. His teammate, recently deemed ‘The Magician”, Pavel Datsyuk, has won 4 of the last 5 Lady Byng Memorial Trophies. Last year’s recipient was Martin St. Louis.

The awards ceremony will be taking place on June 22 in Las Vegas.

Sunday night Fansided Audio HERE

Fansided Mock Draft! Follow it here

Tags: Bill Quackenbush Bobby Orr Doug Harvy Frank Boucher Frank Nighbor Loui Erikkson Martin St Louis Nicklas Lidstrom Pavel Datsyuk Ray Bourque Red Kelly Shea Weber Zdeno Chara

comments powered by Disqus